Writing romance is harder than it looks

I’m way behind on my Dear Author reviews, but in the meantime we’ve posted one of my essays there today. It discusses why veteran romance readers should look outside their normal reading choices, and for entirely selfish reasons, i.e., not to make oneself a better person, or more rounded, but just because we are frequently running out of options in the usual categories. I doubt there’s anyone who reads this blog who doesn’t read DA, but in case there is, go read and comment here or there, if you are so moved.

For whatever reason, the column made me think of bloggers past, and as I went surfing down the links hole (lots of blogs which haven’t updated in years, sniffle), I ran across an apropros strip from my favorite comic artists. Read and enjoy:

Via the much-missed Cranky Reader; source material is here.

3 thoughts on “Writing romance is harder than it looks

  1. I was *just* thinking what happened to Cranky Reader just the other day. I miss her too. What a small world. I commented at DA and can say the same here: I read all over the place. I will add that I used to get somewhat annoyed at people who just refuse to try to read anything outside of one genre in real life and online. I don’t bother to try to convince them read outside their comfort zone anymore. I have my own books to read.

    • I make suggestions, but that’s it. People have such idiosyncratic reasons for not reading something, there’s no point trying to persuade them.

      I’m just glad the comments have mostly stayed away from asking me why I’m trying to make them read something they don’t want to! There’s a couple, but that’s a pretty good ratio.

      There are so many bloggers I wish would come back. Oh well, hope they’re doing well wherever they are.

Leave a Reply

